Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine’s Mission

The mission of the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) is to provide students with an osteopathic medical education that emphasizes primary care, encourages research, promotes lifelong scholarly activity and produces graduates who are committed to serving the healthcare needs of communities in rural Kentucky and other Appalachian regions.

Goals & Objectives

KYCOM educates its students to become competent and compassionate osteopathic physicians. Given KYCOM’s mission, its emphasis is on developing primary care physicians for underserved and rural communities. The following goals and objectives guide attainment of the KYCOM mission:

  1. To recruit and graduate osteopathic medical students who are dedicated to alleviating the shortage of medical services in rural and underserved areas of Kentucky, Appalachia and the nation.
    1. Recruit students from Kentucky, Appalachia, the neighboring region and other rural and underserved areas.
    2. Recruit students with a strong desire to practice patient-centered medical care in medically underserved communities.
  2. To offer a curriculum that integrates a strong foundation of medical knowledge with the professional, cultural and ethical traits desired in its students and graduates.
  3. To educate osteopathic medical students in the art and science of osteopathic medicine using the most current research in clinical and basic science.
    1. Provide opportunities for research and scholarly activity for students and faculty.
    2. Advance medical knowledge and the quality of healthcare through educational, scientific and clinical research.
  4. To provide a curriculum that promotes and measures student competencies to enhance the development of future osteopathic physicians who are competent practitioners of patient-centered, quality medical care.
    1. Prepare students to pass the COMLEX-USA board exams.
    2. Incorporate clinical teaching throughout the four-year curriculum.
    3. Promote the acquisition of the core competencies during student clinical rotations.
    4. Develop and maintain clinical education sites in rural and underserved Kentucky and Appalachian areas that promote providing rural primary care within our region.
  5. To prepare physicians committed to improving access to quality, competent, and patient-centered medical care for all, with an emphasis on developing primary care physicians for underserved and rural communities.
  6. To support the Appalachian Osteopathic Postgraduate Training Institute Consortium (A-OPTIC) in the development of postgraduate educational opportunities that advance the training of our students, residents and faculty.
  7. To prepare KYCOM students to enter and succeed in postgraduate training programs.
  8. To cultivate an appreciation of lifelong learning in KYCOM students and graduates through the development of scholarly inquiry skills.

KYCOM is part of the University of Pikeville, which was established in 1889 as a small Presbyterian college located in Pikeville, Ky. The University of Pikeville is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate, baccalaureate, masters and professional (D.O.) degrees. Any questions about the accreditation of the University of Pikeville may be directed to the Commission on Colleges at (404) 679-4500 or to 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097.

Additionally, inquiries may be made to the University of Pikeville at (606) 218-5250 or to 147 Sycamore Street, Pikeville, Kentucky 41501. Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine has been granted accreditation by the American Osteopathic Association’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). This body is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the accrediting agency for colleges educating osteopathic physicians and surgeons. Further information about the COCA accreditation process can be obtained at

KYCOM received approval from COCA to increase class size to 135 beginning with the Class of 2016 that began July 30, 2012.