University of Pikeville

Patton College of Education
147 Sycamore Street
Pikeville, Kentucky 41501

Lisa Asbury
(606) 218-5317

Danielle Coleman
(606) 218-5009



The University of Pikeville Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame honors individuals who have made a lifelong commitment to education and have dedicated themselves to educating the youth of Central Appalachia.

The University of Pikeville recognizes that front-line educators make a direct and life-changing impact on the lives of their students. In this rewarding profession, classroom teachers have the power to inspire students and cultivate the development of lifelong learning as a lifestyle.

While the Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame recognizes individual educators, we also honor the profession and all who pursue a career in this effort to pass along the accumulated body of knowledge to the next generation. Few occupations could be as important in our effort to build a better society.

Nominations for 2023 Hall of Fame

Nomination Form

Nominations for Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame are open at the beginning of each academic year.

If the form does not load visit

Hall of Fame

2022 hall of fame class
2022 Hall of Fame Class

Amy Kincer
Betty McGuire
Thom Cochran
Sylvia Bailey
Gregory L. Stone
Raquel Stone Goodman
Saundra Curry(Accepting on behalf of her late father, Ronald Keith Curry)

2021 Hall of Fame Class
Laura Castle
Kimberly R. Clevinger
Selena Cochran
James Coleman
Mark Gannon
Shauna Lynn Patton
Paula Baldridge Smith

2019 Inductee class

Glenda Adkins
Gregory K. Allen
Ruth Gwendolyn Bevins
Freddie Bowling
Lillie D. Chaffin
Sandra P. Clevinger
Marcie Ward Hanson
Mary McCloud
Tonya G. Mullins
Annette Mullins Rouse
Alan Siegel
Danny Sturgill


distinguished educators inductees

Cassandra Akers
Teddie Renee’ Buchanan
Tammie Hobbs Hensley
Deborah Lemaster – Johnson County
Modena Sallee
Jeff Shannon
Stephen A. Trimble
Emily Warne

Derena Coleman
Tammie Combs
Shella Damron
Cheryl Fain
Janice Hall
Brenda Maynard
Lisa Tackett
Ricky Thacker
Leah Turner

Carol Grizzard Browning
Vivian Carter
Christina Crase
Lesley Cunningham
Nikki Gearheart
Christine Higgins
Susan Huffman
Retha Hunt
Tammy Mills
Nell Ruth Spears

Danny C. Adams
Anita Bolt
Jacqulin Damron
Dr. Jeff Hawkins
Delphia Ann Lockhart
Dr. William J. Loftus
Gene Lovel
Betsy Davis Thompson
Lois Combs Weinberg
Rosa W. Wolfe

Carol Hogsed Baker
Leslie Combs
Dr. Susan Elaine Compton
Dr. William C. Condit
Dr. James P. Hendrick
Jackson O. Hall
Bill G. McCloud
T.W. Oliver
Paul R. Setser
Kathy Spears
Roger Wagner

Cleo Sanders Bailey
Rev. David Blythe
Hendrick Hall
Tivis Branham
Helen Baars Colley
Anna C. Craft
Charlie Francis
Frank and Mattie Justice
Betty Porter
Johnny Ray Turner
Geraldine Welch

Audrey Davis Barkman
Jim Andy Caudill
Perry A. Cline
Dawahare Family
Olive Dotson
Janice Beeler Ford
Wanda Robinson-Houser
Gertrude Ison
Virgil Osborne
Jerry Waddell

Blanche Branham
Paul Butcher
James Clay
Jewell Cline
Franklin Day
Claude Herman (C.H.) Farley
Colleen Fletcher
Dr. Auguston Alvin Page
Mary Spilman
Lon Rogers & Mary Evelyn Rogers
Georgia Stapleton
Frank Welch
Zella Wells

Chester Bailey
Kaye Baird
Glenn Brown
Jean Coleman
Alcie Combs
Alma Culton
Rediford Damron
James T. Dotson Sr.
Lois Esham
Dixie Gibson
Doug Hinkle
Judith Hinkle
Quentin Howard
William McKinley Justice
Alice J. Kinder
John Waddell

Questions or Comments

Cathy Thornsbury

Assistant to the Provost
(606) 218-5831