Optometry students become AAO fellows

Twenty students from the University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Optometry (KYCO) officially became student fellows of the American College of Optometry (AAO) during a recent pinning ceremony at the Hilton Garden Inn in Pikeville.

Yousef Pippin, president of KYCO’s AAO student chapter; Katherine D. Dronka, O.D., ABCMO, FAAO, assistant professor of optometry; and Eilene Kinzer, O.D., FAAO, chapter faculty advisor, were among those to deliver remarks during the ceremony.

Founded in 1922, the AAO is committed to promoting the art and science of vision care through lifelong learning. The letters “FAAO” (Fellow of the American Academy of Optometry) after an optometrist’s, scientist’s or other qualified person’s name signify that rigorous qualifications for fellowship have been met. To achieve student fellowship, students engage in cutting-edge knowledge and technology through continuing education in the areas of public health, binocular vision, low vision, contact lenses, poster and paper presentations, and workshops.

The following students comprise KYCO’s second class of AAO student fellows: Beverly Atueyi, Doug Boyd, Breck Dakin, Amber Dawson, Trinity Doan, Christina Huynh, Swetha Jinka, Brent Kramer, Sarah Mahmoud, Brittany Martin, Trevor Peden, Jeremy Penn, Haley Rambo, Logan E. Ritchhart, Sandra Rugama, Shanae Scott, Joseph Tegenkamp, Rachael White, Chelsea Whittington and Ashley Wright.

“I am so proud of the achievement these 20 students have made,” said Kinzer. “By becoming student fellows, these students have demonstrated a dedication to providing the highest standards of optometric practice.” 

To learn more about KYCO, visit www.upike.edu/optometry.

UPIKE-Kentucky College of Optometry’s newest class of American Optometric Association student fellows were pinned during a special ceremony.