KYCOM honors graduates and faculty

PIKEVILLE, Ky. – The University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) held its annual graduation banquet honoring graduates and faculty members on May 3, 2019 at the East Kentucky Expo Center.

Daniel F. Sullivan, D.O., of Covington, Ky., received the Dean’s Award. The award is presented to those whose leadership, humanity and loyalty to the profession exemplify the ideals, mission and goals of KYCOM. The award was presented by Dana Shaffer, D.O., FACOFP, dist., FAOGME, dean of KYCOM. 

Additionally, Sullivan received the Board of Trustees’ Award, which is presented for academic excellence to the student earning the highest grade-point average during the first two years of medical school. The award was presented by Terry Dotson, chairman of the University of Pikeville Board of Trustees.

Grant R. Turley, D.O., of Central City, Ky., received the John A. Strosnider, D.O., Memorial Scholarship Award. The award recognizes a KYCOM graduate who embodies Strosnider’s commitment to family medicine and his love and dedication to osteopathic medicine and the osteopathic profession. Strosnider served as founding dean of KYCOM and president of the American Osteopathic Association from 2006-2007.

Jimmy L. Meade, III, D.O., of Harold, Ky., received the James E. Campbell, D.O., Award. The award is presented by the James E. Campbell Education Fund to a deserving KYCOM graduate from the Appalachian region of Kentucky.

Brittany N. Swindall, D.O., of Pikeville, Ky., received the Stephen M. Payson, M.S., Memorial Scholarship Award, presented to a graduate from the Appalachian region who demonstrates Payson’s commitment to the mission of KYCOM and the promotion of the osteopathic profession. 

Kevin M. Wilcox, D.O., of Spring, Texas, was named Student D.O. of the Year. The award is presented by the Council of Student Government Presidents to the student who best exemplifies the ideal qualities of an osteopathic medical student. The award is based on service to the school, the community and osteopathic medicine.

Anna Meyer received the Donna Jones Moritsugu Award, which recognizes the spouse of a graduating student who best demonstrates the role of a professional’s partner and is supportive of mate, family and profession. 

Alicia B. Thompson, D.O., of Hindman, Ky., received the President’s Award. The award recognizes the student who has demonstrated clinical excellence, earning the highest average score on clinical rotations, and was presented by University of Pikeville President Burton J. Webb, Ph.D.

The Mr. Dharam Pal Kashyap Award was presented to Laura A. Cummings, D.O., of Louisville, Ky., for excellence in pediatrics by Seema Sachdeva, M.D., vice chair, division of pediatrics at KYCOM.

Samuel K. Berry, D.O., of Annapolis, Md., received the Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award, which is sponsored by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Douglas E. Meyer, D.O., of Peshtigo, Wis., Turley and Wilcox received the Rams Head Award. The awards were presented by Laura Griffin, D.O., FAAO, assistant dean of osteopathic principles and practices (OPP) integration at KYCOM, for the Fellowship Program in recognition of outstanding achievements in OPP. 

Casey Ann Potts, D.O., of Lexington, Ky., Shandilya Ramdas, D.O., of North Canton, Ohio, and Sara Ann Marie Whitt, D.O., of Salt Lick, Ky., received the Merck Manual Award for Academic Excellence. The award is sponsored by Merck & Company, Inc., to recognize scholastic achievement in medical education.

James T. Ellis, D.O., of Cleveland, Tenn., received the Boyd R. Buser, D.O., Award of Excellence. The award is given for overall excellence in academics and service.

Michelle Carpenter, D.O., of Winchester, Ky., received the Clinical Medical Educator of the Year Award, which was presented by Joshua R. Crum, D.O., associate dean for clinical affairs at KYCOM.