UPIKE to honor 2023 distinguished educators

Educators inspire, challenge and give unwavering support to their students. To acknowledge the career commitment made by educators in the region, the University of Pikeville (UPIKE) recognizes a select group of passionate and service-minded educators each year in its Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame. 

This prestigious recognition honors those whose contributions to learning have inspired generations of students and made a significant impact in the field of education. Nominated by their peers, former students or community members, the 2023 group of professionals will be inducted on Tuesday, October 10, at 6 p.m. in Booth Auditorium on UPIKE’s campus. 

This year’s inductees include Brandon Blackburn of Pikeville, Jerry Green of Hazard, Tammy Jarrells of Dunlow, W. Va., Dema Ann Litafik of Pikeville, Karla McCarty, Ed.D., of Dandridge, Tenn., Sarah Ruth Moon of Huddy, Kelly Scott of Pikeville, Dottie Stepp (posthumously) and Frank Wells of Staffordsville.

UPIKE invites the campus and the community to join in celebrating education and the dedication of this year’s inductees. PikeTV will live stream the ceremony for those who are unable to attend.