KYCOM hosts another successful PEPP session

The University of Pikeville’s Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) recently completed another successful session of its annual Professional Education Preparation Program (PEPP). The program, which has been in existence since 1980, allows a small group of high school students entering grade 11 or 12 to live on campus for one week and learn about careers in medicine. PEPP participants expand their awareness of how medicine is practiced in a rural setting while attending lectures, anatomical laboratory sessions and volunteering at a local hospital. 

For Alexia Hall from Prestonsburg High School, the hands-on activities offered in the anatomy and simulation lab allowed her to pursue her interest and establish a career path before beginning college. 

“I have always been interested in the medical field,” said Hall. “Both of my parents work in medicine, so it’s like home for me.” 

Bryson Sykes from Shelby Valley High School said gaining experience in the medical field and having a better understanding of what medical school entails is what drew him to the program. 

“I have learned so much more about what it takes to be a doctor and I can see a path to get there,” said Sykes. “I’ve learned what medical school would be like, how to apply and what the schedule will be like.”

Participants in the program included: Bryce Adkins from Pike County Central High School, Evelyn Anderson from Pike County Central High School, Jacob Boggs from Perry County Central High School, Nelonna Branham from Shelby Valley High School, Jason Casey from Phelps High School, Madison Caudill from Shelby Valley High School, Markisha Collinsworth from Magoffin County High School, Gabriella Cooley from Pike County Central High School, Hannah Edmonds from Pikeville High School, Sophia Forlenza from Ryle High School, Alexia Hall from Prestonsburg High School, Caitlynne Hill from Williamsburg Independent Schools, Marta Hughes from Russellville Independent Schools, David Layne from Johnson Central High School, Sydnee Lowe from Pike County Central High School, JoEmily Miller from Corbin High School, Olivia Minor from Harlan County High School, Kalista Mitchell from Shelby Valley High School, Kylee Morris from Clay County High School, Kolby Newsome from Pike County Central High School, Camille Overley from Shelby Valley High School, Emilee Prewitt from Williamsburg Independent Schools, Joel Price from Atherton High School, Ashton Reed from Phelps High School, Chloe Robinette from Pike County Central High School, Nicholas Sabotchick from The Gatton Academy, Slayden Sizemore from Jackson Independent Schools, Lindsey Stewart from Shelby Valley High School, Bryson Sykes from Shelby Valley High School and Michael Underwood who is homeschooled. 

For more information or to apply for PEPP, contact Michael Kennedy, KYCOM associate director of admissions and recruitment, at or (606) 218-5257.