KYCOM honors faculty and graduates

The University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) held its annual graduation banquet honoring graduates and faculty members on May 6, at the Appalachian Wireless Arena in downtown Pikeville, Ky.

Daniel M. Stoneburg, D.O., of Bowling Green, Ky., received the Dean’s Award. The award is presented to those whose leadership, humanity and loyalty to the profession exemplify the ideals, mission and goals of KYCOM. The award was presented by Joe Kingery, D.O., MBA, FACOFP, FAAFP, dean of KYCOM.

Brandon K. Hamm, D.O., of Maysville, Ky., received the President’s Award. The award recognizes the student who has demonstrated clinical excellence, earning the highest average score on clinical rotations, and was presented by University of Pikeville President Burton J. Webb, Ph.D.

Additionally, Hamm received the Board of Trustees’ Award, which is presented for academic excellence to the student earning the highest grade-point average during the first two years of medical school. The award was presented by Terry Dotson, chairman of the University of Pikeville Board of Trustees.

Kennedy Alexis King, D.O., of Hindman, Ky., received the James E. Campbell, D.O., Award. The award was presented by the James E. Campbell Education Fund to a deserving KYCOM graduate from the Appalachian region of Kentucky.

Kaitlyn C. Hall, D.O., of Campton, Ky., received the Stephen M. Payson, M.S., Memorial Scholarship Award, presented to a graduate from the Appalachian region who demonstrates Payson’s commitment to the mission of KYCOM and the promotion of the osteopathic profession.

Katarina Sprader received the Donna Jones Moritsugu Award, which recognizes the spouse of a graduating student who best demonstrates the role of a professional’s partner and is supportive of mate, family and profession.

The Mr. Dharam Pal Kashyap Award was presented to Emily J. Borgemenke, D.O., of Mason, Ohio, and Jared T. Cottingham, D.O., of Lowell, Ind., for excellence in pediatrics by Seema Sachdeva, M.D., vice chair, division of pediatrics at KYCOM.

Shauna M. Combs, D.O., of Cincinnati, Ohio, received the Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award, which is sponsored by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Jennifer M. Markwood, D.O., of Tampa, Fla., Heather M. McGuire, D.O., of Louisville, Ky., Amy Rubrich, D.O., of Sun Prairie, Wis., and Meadow K. Will, D.O., of Rapid City, S.D., received the Rams Head Award. The awards were presented by Laura Griffin, D.O., FAAO, assistant dean of osteopathic principles and practices (OPP) integration at KYCOM, for the Fellowship Program in recognition of outstanding achievements in OPP.

Additionally, McGuire received the John A. Strosnider, D.O., Memorial Scholarship Award. The award recognizes a KYCOM graduate who embodies Strosnider’s commitment to family medicine and his love and dedication to osteopathic medicine and the osteopathic profession. Strosnider served as founding dean of KYCOM.

Jamie B. Castle, D.O., of Salyersville, Ky., Dylan C. Fugate, D.O., of Hazard, Ky., and Ryan C. Morales, D.O., of Owensboro, Ky., received the Merck Manual Award for Academic Excellence. The award is sponsored by Merck & Company, Inc., to recognize scholastic achievement in medical education.

Carlee M. Clemons, D.O., of Covington, Ky., received the Boyd R. Buser, D.O., Award of Excellence. The award is given for overall excellence in academics and service.

Frederick A. Stine, VI, D.O., of Pikeville, Ky., received the Clinical Medical Educator of the Year Award, which was presented by Dr. Kingery.