KYCOM creates Gold Humanism Honor Society chapter

The University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) held an inaugural induction of 20 students into the college’s newly-created chapter the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) on June 26 in UPIKE’s Health Professions Education Building. Inductees are members of KYCOM’s Class of 2020.

GHHS was founded in 2002 through the Arnold P. Gold Foundation to recognize “students, residents and faculty who are exemplars of compassionate patient care and who serve as role models, mentors and leaders in medicine.” Nationally, the society is comprised of 30,000 members nominated by their peers as individuals they want taking care of their own family. KYCOM joins the ranks of more than 150 chapters in medical schools and residency programs in the U.S.

According to the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the creation of a GHHS chapter signifies to the medical community that an institution places high value on the interpersonal skills and attitudes that are essential for the highest level of patient care.

KYCOM’s Dean Dana Shaffer, D.O., FACOFP dist., FAOGME, expressed his support of GHHS’ newest members.

“As Dean, it was heartwarming to see University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine Class of 2020 osteopathic medical students being inducted into the inaugural class of our Gold Humanism Honor Society,” Shaffer said. “GHHS is devoted to fostering the need for humanism in healthcare. Students are acknowledged for their humanism and empathy in dealing with colleagues and patients. The Arnold P. Gold Foundation recognizes that the ‘complete physician’ must have scientific and technical expertise while still embracing the art of relationship-centered and compassionate humanistic patient care.”

KYCOM’s GHHS inductees will be able to engage in networking and mentoring, participate in leadership and professional development opportunities, promote humanistic care within their communities, and apply for chapter awards and grants. KYCOM’s GHHS chapter includes Austin Allen, Stephanie Davenport, Laura Fulkerson, Shannon Garrison, Ashley Gullixson, Whitley McIntosh, Yasaman Mossadad, Derek Mounsey, Rebecca Oliver, Akruti Patel, Jay Patel, Vandan Patel, Kim Rafine, Joshua Raven, Parth Shah, Liz Simmons, Emily Smallwood, Natalie Torrente, Marisa Wallas and Noor Zayed.