News & RSS Feeds

University of Pikeville honors academic achievement

June 03, 2016 12:00 AM
Pikeville, Ky.
The University of Pikeville recently held a series of events celebrating academic excellence and student achievement. Outstanding students in each academic major from the College of Arts and Sciences, the Coleman College of Business, Elizabeth Akers Elliott School of Nursing and the Patton College of Education were individually recognized. Members of honor societies, academic clubs and organizations were also honored.

Individuals who received awards for outstanding academic achievement in their field of study were Bradley Loader of Pikeville, art; Cari Leigh Moore of Garner, Ky., English; Jackson Hussey of Perth, Australia, film and media arts; Jesse James Coleman of Raccoon, arts administration; Timothy Scot Robinson II of Pikeville, religion; Eddie Zavala of Maysville, Spanish; Cheyenne Case of Teaberry, biology “Rookie of the Year;” Wesley G. Barnett of Cynthiana, chemistry; Logan E. Lucas of Jenkins, organic chemistry and biology; Brent Cornette of Pikeville, and Dustin Stacy of Belfry, organic chemistry; Andrew Rothenstine of Ashland, computer science; Erin L. Edwards of Pikeville, mathematics; Haley Johnson of Coal Grove, Ohio, communication; Kyle Allen of Salyersville, criminal justice and psychology; Kayla Day of Ashland, history; Courtney Taylor of Harold, history and political science; Nikisha Liesegang of Irvine, social work; Brianna L. Larson of North Tonawanda, N.Y., elementary education; Jarred Dale Thacker of Pikeville, business administration – accounting; Shelia Nicole Howe of Florence, business administration – management; Andrea Mae Akers of Harold, healthcare management; Kaitlyn Abdon of Florence, sport management; and Justin Prater of Pikeville and Candy Potter of Shelby Gap, master of business administration.

Honor societies recognized included Alpha Mu Gamma, Beta Beta Beta-Pi Zeta Chapter, Lambda Sigma-Beta Gamma Chapter, Chi Omicron Mu, Phi Alpha Theta, Phi Alpha: Sigma Beta Delta, Sigma Tau Delta, Sigma Zeta-Beta Xi Chapter, Theta Alpha Kappa and Phi Beta Lambda.

Caption: Timothy Scot Robinson II, right, was presented the outstanding religion student award by James Browning, Ph.D., associate professor of religion, during an event honoring academic excellence.


There has never been a better time to be a UPIKE Bear! APPLY NOW
UPike Tigers