News & RSS Feeds

University of Pikeville honors Class of 2018

May 19, 2018 12:00 AM
Pikeville, KY
The University of Pikeville honored the academic achievements of more than 300 graduates at the associate, baccalaureate and master’s degree levels and 123 Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine degree recipients from the Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) during commencement exercises on May 19.
Martin Levine, D.O., MPH, FACOFP dist., delivered the keynote address at each ceremony. Levine is the interim clinical dean and professor of family and community medicine at the Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine. The 115th president of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), Levine was elected to and served on local, state and national osteopathic organizations.
Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine
In his commencement address, Levine, who was presented an honorary Doctor of Science degree, encouraged graduates to stay true to their osteopathic training.
“Think osteopathically,” said Levine. “Practice up to your education and training. Believe me, you’ve learned.”
William G. Anderson, D.O., former president of the AOA and a founding member of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine’s Board of Directors, received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree.
University of Pikeville President Burton J. Webb, Ph.D., awarded Boyd R. Buser, D.O., FACOFP, dist., vice president for health affairs and dean of KYCOM, the Presidential Medallion for his significant contributions to osteopathic medical education.
In his more than 10 years of service to KYCOM, Buser has kept the promise the medical school made at its inception in 1997 to serve the healthcare needs of communities in rural Kentucky and other Appalachian regions. Buser, immediate past-president of the AOA, was instrumental in developing a single, unified accreditation system for graduate medical education. On the global front, he has taught extensively and represented the osteopathic profession in many World Health Organization initiatives.
College of Arts and Sciences, Coleman College of Business, Elliott School of Nursing and Patton College of Education
Commencement marked the end of a successful journey and a new beginning for graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences, Coleman College of Business, Elliott School of Nursing and Patton College of Education.
Valedictorians for the Class of 2018 were Megan Hedgespeth, of Campbellsville, Ky., and Daniel Sterenberg, of Ellicott City, Md. Caroline Workman, of Canada, Ky., earned the distinction of class salutatorian.
During the ceremony, Webb reflected on the value of a liberal arts education.
“A University of Pikeville education prepares you for more than your first job,” said Webb. “We take the long view and have filled you up with knowledge from a variety of disciplines. The liberal arts and sciences have prepared you for a lifetime of learning and service.”
Mary Rado Simpson, Ph.D., professor of nursing, and Rachel Little, M.A., instructor of communication, were honored as first- and second-place recipients, respectively, of the William Wade and Helen Record Walker Teaching Excellence Award.
Commencement week activities for the College of Arts and Sciences also included the pinning ceremony for 10 new professional social workers. The Elliott School of Nursing honored 44 new nurses during a traditional pinning ceremony.

Click Here to view the 2018 University of Pikeville - Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine Ceremony.

Click Here to view the 2018 University of Pikeville Undergraduate Ceremony.
There has never been a better time to be a UPIKE Bear! APPLY NOW
UPike Tigers