AOA President

In July of 2017 Boyd R. Buser, D.O., completed his term as the 120th President of the American Osteopathic Association.  Since 2007, Dr. Buser has served as Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean of the University of Pikeville’s Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine, where he also holds the rank of Professor of Osteopathic Principles and Practice and Professor of Family Medicine.
He is a 1981 graduate of Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine, is dually board certified in Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine and Family Medicine, and is a Distinguished Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians. He has taught extensively both nationally and internationally in the field of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine. He has a long history of advocacy in the payment policy arena, having served on the RUC and CPT Advisory Committees as well as eight years as a member of the AMA’s CPT Editorial Panel. From 2011-2013 he co-chaired the AOA/AACOM Blue Ribbon Commission on the Advancement of Osteopathic Medical Education. He has been an instrumental figure in the development of the single accreditation system for graduate medical education.
Dr. Buser is a past Chairman of the Board of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) and was a founding member of the Board of Directors of the Osteopathic International Alliance. In 1995, Dr. Buser served as President of the American Academy of Osteopathy and was named Educator of the Year by the AOA and American Osteopathic Foundation in 1994. In March 2010, Dr. Buser was awarded the A.T. Still Medallion of Honor by the American Academy of Osteopathy, and in 2013 he received the Riland Medal for Public Service from the New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) and the Santucci Award from the NBOME.

There has never been a better time to be a UPIKE Bear! APPLY NOW
UPike Tigers